EMPTY NEST SYNDROME

Rafa 13th Bday5This week Amy the mom is writing. My 13 year old son left to Puerto Rico (back home for us) on vacation with his dad. I can’t tell you how much I miss him.

Prior to his departure he asked me if I’d miss him and my reply was “I’ve been a mom for 14 years (I must count the 9 months he was in my womb) and I’ve realized that I was called to be a mom, your mom”. I feel a great sense of fulfillment in making his meals, washing his clothes , nurturing him, guiding him and yes disciplining him; not being able to do so leaves me with a void like there’s something missing.

I love being a mom and don’t get me wrong, I love being a wife, an entrepreneur and all the other roles I fulfill and they are all important but I guess that because I carried him in my womb and was the vessel God used to bring him to this world, it has a very special part in my heart. He is constantly wanting me to tell him who I love the most and my reply is always the same, “I have a different and unique love for those I have in my life, there is no competition”. I don’t know if it’s right or wrong, I’ll leave that one up to the psychologist to analyze. All I know is that I miss my “muchacho” (similar to boy in Spanish). He will be gone for a month, it’s already been 4 days and 7 hours but who’s counting?  I’ve promised myself not to call him too often so that I can give him his space, we’ll see how that works. Since he left, I’ve only called 3 times and sent 2 messages via Facebook so that’s not that bad, is it?

I’m trying to take advantage of his absence rather than sit and soak (I really don’t have time for that) so I took on the task of going  into his room and did a deep clean which wouldn’t have happened had he been here since he loves to save stuff.  The other great thing is that my hubbie and I will have more time to cultivate our marriage and spend quality time together.

The truth is, it’s perfect timing.  I have a lot going on at the store this month with the whole Customer Appreciation Day celebration this Thursday July 16th from 5:30 – 7:00 pm.  Then I have the planning of the Fashion Show for Full Figured Women which should take place some time in August; our Advisory Board meeting this month as well, plus all of my other networking events, I’m sure I’ll keep busy and not having to worry about him does make it easier.

Well now that I think about it, it’s not a bad thing after all.  I guess I had to write about it to come to that conclusion.  It’s all about making the best out of all circumstances.  Have you gone through the empy nest syndrome?  How did you cope?

1 Comment

  1. Very nice! I can’t wait for his return…


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • "I decided to open a shoe store for women with big and/or wide feet where they could shop with pleasure, would not have to sacrifice fashion for comfort and walk out with their head held high."