I know that it’s not all about the shoes….

2009 has been a year of self discovery in which I am reevaluating my vision statement and that of my business along with my goals and the action plans to achieve them.

I’m reading a book titled Strategic Acceleration by Tony Jeary and I highly recommend it. According to Tony, Clarity, Focus and Execution are the three basic components of Strategic Acceleration and it’s what all successful people and organizations have in common. In his book he has exercises that help answer the who, what, why and how questions that arise as part of the process.

In determining my vision statement I need to understand who I am, why I am (my purpose) what my values and principles are and what is truly important to me along with my characteristics which include my strengths, gifts and weaknesses.

So far, on the business side I know that it’s not just about having a shoe store. It’s about the opportunity to interact with woman and provide them with a product that they cannot find elsewhere along with excellent customer service. When women come to the store I want them to feel comfortable and I want to make a difference in their lives. The store is a way for me to reach out to the female population and encourage them, cheer them up, share stories and build relationship as well as selling them shoes for all occasions.

Are you in a rut? Where do you see yourself 5 years from now? Where do you see yourself 10 years from now? Are you just working for a paycheck or are you enjoying your work? Are you fulfilling your purpose? Do you consider yourself successful? If the answer to any of these questions is yes or you don’t know how to answer the question, I encourage you to ask yourself the basics, who are you and why are you; then look at your strengths and weaknesses and last but not least ask yourself what your values are and from their develop your vision statement and your short term and long term goals with the action plan to achieve them. There are other resources out there that can be useful, 2 other books I read that have helped me as well are The Purpose Driven Life by Rick Warren and How to Discover your Purpose in 10 Days by J. Victor and Catherine B Eagen.

I’m looking forward to the outcome of this process and I know that it will accelerate my destiny and make me a better person with a clear vision that will lead me to live a life of purpose so that at the end of it I can leave a legacy. I hope you’re encouraged to accelerate your life as well and discover and live out your purpose.

Feel free to share your success stories with us as well as your comments.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • "I decided to open a shoe store for women with big and/or wide feet where they could shop with pleasure, would not have to sacrifice fashion for comfort and walk out with their head held high."