What do you do when life throws you a curve ball?

Amy with cast2What do you do when you have things all planned out and life throws you a curve ball? How do you go from being an independent woman to having to depend on others? You know, having to ask to be driven around; get me this, get me that; help me with this or that, it’s not easy but there are times when you will find yourself in a situation that will end up being a humbling experience.

Well that’s where I’m at. This past week I fractured two bones of my foot and now have a cast on for the next six weeks. That means that for the next six weeks I’ll have to rely on others to help me and I’ll have to make adjustments to my plans. Talk about having to be flexible. This is definitely what I call a curve ball. I had so many things I wanted to do and this just changes things for me. I’m good when it comes to helping, but when it comes to asking for help or accepting it, I still struggle. I guess it’s time to pass the test, so I’ll leave pride to a side and learn to accept the help that others offer.

What about my plans? The predicament is do I make the changes or do I wallow in self pity or get aggravated because of my current circumstances or even get discouraged and upset? The answer is, I make the changes and move on. I know it won’t be easy but I need to be thankful that surgery was not required, that I still have my foot and the doctor’s report is that it should heal perfectly fine in addition to being thankful for the friends and family that I have to support me. Why go around feeling sorry for myself or losing my joy and peace? It’s not the end of the world and I’m neither the first nor the last that will have to face some type of limitation. The best way to deal with these situations is to look at the glass as half full, move on and make the best of it. So maybe it’ll take me longer to get to places, or I may have to postpone some things or change the way I do them, the bottom line is; it is what it is and if you can’t change it then don’t let it get the best of you. I will still have hope, joy and I won’t lose my praise.

I encourage you as always to live life to the fullest. Find someone to be a blessing to and always count your blessings.

Have a wonderful week.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • "I decided to open a shoe store for women with big and/or wide feet where they could shop with pleasure, would not have to sacrifice fashion for comfort and walk out with their head held high."