What is your passion?

I was recently in a leadership meeting and those attending were challenged to define their passion.  I’ve always been goal oriented; however, they were set without considering my passion.  I knew I was passionate about my faith and my family but I hadn’t truly thought of what else I was passionate about.  I had to truly ponder, “What makes me passionate?” and being on bed rest due to a broken foot really gave me the time to do so.  One of the things that were shared was that when you lose your passion you lose your inspiration, motivation and drive; passion is your “why” in life.  If money were not an issue, what would you want to do more than anything in the world?   You see many times we don’t fulfill our passion because of fear (false evidence appearing real), insecurities, finances or any other excuse we can come up with.  The truth is, if we find our passion then we can find a way to make it produce money; then work would be done with ease and produce personal satisfaction versus getting a job for the sake of getting a paycheck.  We can set goals that will help us pursue our passion rather than being complacent at a job that has nothing to do with our passion or in a situation that doesn’t match up to our true expectations.  It may take a while to get to your destination, but at least you’d be doing something to get you there.

 As I mentioned in an earlier post, I’m reading the book Strategic Acceleration by Tony Jeary and it’s been so helpful in helping me formulate my vision, set my goals and keep my focus.  Now my goals include my passion as well as my personal and family goals. I highly recommend you read it.  It’s an easy read with exercises that help you develop what he calls, “your blueprint”.   One of the things that Tony says that made me think a lot was that we must make sure that the things we do in life move us toward achieving our goals rather than pull us away and that is the question we should ask ourselves, “is what I’m about to do moving me towards my goal or away from it?”.  It’s all part of staying focused and not allowing distractions to take us off course and if you do get off course, then having that blueprint is going to be critical because you can always go back to it to get back on course.

So the question still is; what is my passion?  I wrote down my strengths and weaknesses, I also considered my personality type and then thought of the positions I’ve upheld and the level of satisfaction I felt in performing the tasks and after gathering all that information I outlined what would be the perfect job for me (notice that I didn’t consider my current situation).  I love office management, along with bookkeeping and inventory control, these are all a way to earn income but not my passion (it’s a way to a means as long as I don’t forget to keep my passion in front of me as the main goal).  I then concluded that my true passion is to share my experiences with other women; encourage them; help them to understand that they can have a great life regardless of their current circumstances or past experiences, that if life throws you lemons you can make lemonade.  I want to be able to make a difference one woman at a time, bring laughter to those I come in contact with, pull greatness out of women and help them see how great, strong and beautiful they are inside and out, this is what I truly love to do and produces the greatest level of accomplishment.  I then had to figure out how Big and Elegant fit into the picture; it gives me the platform to fulfill my passion and leave a legacy which is my ultimate goal.  It’s not just about the shoes; it’s about building relationships while I get you into a comfortable and fashionable pair of shoes.

 In these tough times, many of us are re-evaluating our priorities, our goals, our sense of purpose, our experiences (what we did and what we would not do again), etc.  I was recently reminded that our lives are about choices and we can live life at an almost level (I almost got that promotion, I almost lost the weight, I almost got organized), at a most level where we’re just another number in the masses or we can live at the level of utmost living which is the best life, being the best you, you can be.

 I challenge you to take an inventory of your life and figure out; what is your passion; set your goals and key action steps (develop your blueprint) and see how your life will change for the good, I know mine has.  I want to live life at the utmost level and so should you!

 Have a wonderful week!

 Amy “Your Shoe Lady”

4 Comments

  1. Sounds like you’ll make a great life coach. We all need some prodding and encouragement now and then. It’s so easy to get stuck in a rut. It’s funny when I’m passionate about a project I don’t need an alarm clock or much to eat. life is good when you can hardly wait to get out of bed to do what you do.

    • I totally agree with you Vee, our passion is what drives us. Thanks for your support and kind words. I guess my life experiences are making me a life coach, if I can make a difference in someone’s life then mission accomplished!

      Regards,

      Amy

  2. Thanks for sharing your experience with us. I am still looking for my passion and hope I will find it too shortly cause the way to it is being a long way trip and getting nowhere.

    • Thanks Maia for your comments, some times it takes a good time out of just sitting, thinking and writing down your thoughts to figure it out. Insanity is doing the same thing expecting different results. Don’t give up and give yourself the time you deserve before life passes you and you realize you’re at the end of it without figuring out your passion, fulfilling your dreams and leaving a legacy. Much success to you on your journey!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • "I decided to open a shoe store for women with big and/or wide feet where they could shop with pleasure, would not have to sacrifice fashion for comfort and walk out with their head held high."