Keeping an attitude of gratitude

I want to start by wishing all my readers a Happy Thanksgiving!  On that note I just want to exhort youto sit for a minute to think of 5 things you can be grateful for.  With all the hustle and bustle of our very busy lives, we forget to count our blessings and be thankful for what we have.  We take the little things in life and the people who are by our side for granted.  I believe more than a day to be thankful we should live a life of gratitude and learn to be thankful in all things good or bad, happy or sad, for open doors and even closed doors, for those that came in to our life and those that left, remember at the end it will all work out for you and not against you.

As for me, life has been tough during the past year, but one thing I know for sure, I am grateful for each and every day that I have lived.  Would I want things to be different, maybe, but at the end what didn’t break me, made me stronger. 

The five things I am grateful for are:

1.  My faith

2.  My husband and son

3.  My health & sound mind (despite having Chrones disease and breaking my foot I can still be thankful; I may be limited but not to the point where I’m unable to function and fulfill my purpose and goals).

4. Great friends that encourage and lift me up when I’ve been down.

5. The ability to look forward to a better tomorrow ( the last thing you want to lose is hope; as long as you have faith and hope you can bounce back from any setback you have had and know that your tomorrow looks better than your yesterday).

What about you, can you name 5 things you are thankful for?

2 Comments

  1. Hi Amy, Your story is so inspiring and I’ve so identified with it. You are such a wonderful person who has followed your dreams and are fulfilling your destiny. I am so thankful also for my husband and daughter, my extended family who supports me, my faith in God who never lets us down, thankful for having a creative and ambitious spirit to achieve and be an entrepreneur, and thankful towards something bigger that God has in store for me. God bless you in your journey!

    • Thanks Cynthia for your kind words. I pray God grant you the desires of your heart. May He bless you exceedingly, abundantly, above all you could ever ask or think according to His power that works within you (Eph 3:20). Merry Christmas and a Happy 2010!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • "I decided to open a shoe store for women with big and/or wide feet where they could shop with pleasure, would not have to sacrifice fashion for comfort and walk out with their head held high."